Shopping with a new purpose

After posting yesterday, we ventured off to the supermarket to pick up a few items for tonight’s dinner and for the week. The trip was a little different for me than usual, in the sense that I was trying to be more aware of what I purchased. We went to a typical supermarket- not a Whole Foods or specialty market and it is abundantly clear that I will need to shop for some products outside of this supermarket in order to meet my new-found needs.

First, the produce selection. It is pretty diverse and there are a good amount of different veggie options, however very few items are tagged as ‘locally grown’ or ‘organic’. Some items may be, but they are not labeled as such. Michael Pollan discusses in his book that it is preferable to purchase items locally (less travel time) and items that have been grown in nutrient rich soil (typically organic, but not ALL organic produce is grown in such soil), yet this store did not seem to carry much of that. I really want to go to a farmer’s market soon!

The second thing I noticed was the lack of seafood options. This market always seems to carry the same seafood options- tilapia, salmon, and perch. Some times they have tuna and yesterday they had flounder- nothing too exciting in my book. We  already have some shrimp at home and none of the seafood was inspiring or on sale so we decided to hold off until later in the week. I love eating seafood but I get tired of the same old options at this store.

The next item of business for me was  the meat section. I could not find any grass fed meat options or even ‘free range’ meats. I think I will need to really search for these in my community, although I got an inside tip that Trader Joes carries grass-fed products. I may try to check that out this week.

Next, the eggs and dairy section. Very few choices here too! The best I could find were organic free range eggs or coup-free eggs. I like the idea of that of course, but I really want to find grass-fed chicken eggs if possible. I held off on buying any eggs and will continue to search. Then I completely spaced and just grabbed the store brand half-n-half and forgot to look for organic or any type of ‘better’ dairy for my coffee. I guess I was a little worn out by this point. Woops! Also, same with the shredded cheddar cheese- we just grabbed the store brand and were on our way. I will need to do some more research on the availability of dairy products from grass fed cows in my area as I doubt there were many options on that front at my local grocery store anyway.

So, the shopping trip was very interesting. All in all, I think we did pretty well. We picked up two heads of romaine lettuce, a bag of spinach, a cucumber, organic (yes, this was labeled!) green onion, 4 green bell peppers, 4 jalepenos, 2 bags of yellow onions, a bag of lemons, half a head of purple cabbage, a whole head of green cabbage, bananas, and tomatoes. We bought a tray of chicken breasts and some ground veal (I know, bad). A bag of shredded cheddar and some half n half. I bought some Siggi’s icelandic yogurt to try this week, which is all natural (INGREDIENTS: Skim Milk, Agave Nectar, Candied Ginger Orange Extract, Live Active Cultures, Vegetable Rennet). Also, some cashews for snacking. All in all, a good trip and I learned that I really need to pay attention to everything I put in that cart!

Anyway, on to dinner. My husband made the crab cakes and he did an excellent job. They contained crab meat, organic green onion, fresh cilantro, jalepeno, lemon juice, mustard-dry and wet, an egg, mayonnaise, and bread crumbs. He fried them in a little canola oil. I made an Asian-style slaw, using purple and green cabbage, carrots, organic green onion, cilantro, lemon juice, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, and sesame seeds. It came out great! It tasted so fresh and light and accompanied the crab cakes perfectly. (please see starving kitten for the recipes!)

After dinner I made myself an espresso with half and half.

I knew we were going to be going out and doing something social so I needed a pick-me-up. While we were out I had two vodka sodas, with Stoli vodka, club soda, and lime. All in all, a good day!

Leave a Reply

